Login |  Register |  FAQ

Using peltier to cool a terrarium

Post subject: Using peltier to cool a terrarium
PostPosted: Sun Aug 14, 2016 6:20 am 

Hello, I am not sure if this is an appropriate thing to post in a section meant for computers only so if you guys have any issue with this you can remove this I understand completely.I wanted to give this a shot because it really looks like you guys know your stuff when it comes to pletier cooling. I am very new to peltiers so I may sound stupid :lol: .Ok so I want to cool a 18 x 18 x 18(inches) terrarium, This. The problem is that I don't know what strength, size or ammount of peltier(s) I should get, my ambient room temp is around the high 70s to low 80s (fahrenheit) and can jump into the higher 80s when my computer goes full blast (if a pelter cannot handle this ill just move the cage into a different room but I would rather not). my target would be somewhere in 72f-78f in the day and 62f-70f at night. To achieve this I will be using a thermostat. Also I was planning to use compact florescent lighting for uv but the species i'm planning to put in there doesn't need light, really they can get what they would from the lights in different ways, I just wanted the light for live plants really ,but again - not needed. I am not sure if this is even remotely possible but I would appreciate any advice you guys have. Thank you for your time :D

Post subject: Re: Using peltier to cool a terrarium
PostPosted: Sun Aug 14, 2016 5:10 pm 

Well, you can do this with a TEC. You'd need a heatsink and fan for each side of the TEC and a DC power supply to drive the TEC (and fans). You could switch the DC supply on and off with your thermostat.

You have to figure out how large a TEC you need though. That's a relatively small space but the lights will dump heat into it and heat in infiltrate via the glass.