Login |  Register |  FAQ

Legit Thermo Electric Cooler Project

Post subject: Legit Thermo Electric Cooler Project
PostPosted: Fri Nov 11, 2016 2:44 am 

I'm an engineering student and for my senior survey and design class we were asked to do a senior project. I was working for an ice company and fixing ice chests outside gas stations at the time and I thought, "does a compressorsless cooler exist?" Well I stumbled upon these things after research and now my partner and I will be building a thermoelectric cooler.

With about a semester left, we've completed a conceptual design and are about to finish the budget and schedule. Next semester we will start modeling the cooler in solidworks and build it in March. So, everything is good so far and I found some pdf files of books on thermoelectrics and heatsinks. I was wondering if you guys could give me tips based on your experience with peltier pads.

So the cooler....
All electrics will be in the lid.

High efficiency 2" thick Polystyrene R-10 Insulation
2 Peltier units (including fans and heatsinks)
Thermostat
Computer battery (to run and while charging)
Solar panels (to extend use away from power source)
Steel exterior (supplied from my work)
Inside liner (We don't know what to use yet)

Inside dimensions
L=20in w=12in h=14in
The inside area of the cooler is 3360in^3

So my question is, how can I determine what peltier to use?

What can I use for my inside liner?

Does the area of the inside portion matter?

Also, if anyone wants a pdf copy of the chapters I found just post your email and I'll send them.
Thanks for reading.

Post subject: Re: Legit Thermo Electric Cooler Project
PostPosted: Mon Nov 14, 2016 1:01 pm 
Site Admin

Hello

Well assuming a perfect seal and no loss to the outside environment ( not realistic ) But lets assume.. Then the difference between a 500Watt Qmax and a 50Watt Qmax TEC will be the time it takes to cool the the internal space.